Travelogue: Mr & Mrs Kedongdong goes to Kuching!

20 Feb

It started off as a Thank-you post for my sweetheart, but it triggered me to upload the backdated pictures, which inspired me to blog about it cus I’m (finally) in the mood to do so.

Here goes:

On 2009, after our long-distance r/s started, we couldn’t be with each other on both Christmas and New Year’s Eve. Though I did spend NYE with a bunch of good friends, it felt different bcus NYE was our day. We spent 2007’s NYE sitting by the waters and talking to each other till the crack of dawn. First cuddle, first holding of hands, and two days later, we got together. 🙂

My 2010 was terrible. Worst year of my life, and I blamed it to the fact that we didn’t spend NYE together. Haha, I’m superstitious like that. So last year, we decided that we have to countdown together no matter what it takes (or how much it costs). After calculating all expenses, we decided to head out to Kuching for a short getaway!

First meal in Kuching:

Loklok!

We ❤ loklok! It was so nice, we walked all the way to the shop close to midnight just to curb our craving. Hmm, maybe we should open a stall that sells loklok next time!

 

The next day, we went shopping at their newest shopping mall, Spring, which is quite empty as compared to malls in Sg. Baby went to make new glasses while I asked for a test on my eyes. Bcus before I left, my mom insisted that I have lao hua! 😦

But look! Perfect eyesight still. Wheehee, and I repeatedly asked the guy if I have lao hua and he replied in a calm tone: “You won’t get laohua until you are 40.”

Hahahaha, hokay then!

 

From our hotel, there’s this gravel shortcut which leads to the main road, and the wall says “This is Sarawak, not M’sia!”, and being the Sarawakian, baby insisted that I have to take a picture with it. Don’t know for what, hahaha.

After a long day of shopping, went back to hotel and started taking photographs!

His chest can dance. HAHA.

I love Cambodia, I really do! That’s my fave PJ tee 😀

 

Third day,

um I believe all we did was chilling around Kuching cus there’s nothing left for us to do. Haha, okay the motive to travel all the way there is to relax and spend time with each other, so don’t blame us for not fully utilizing our itinery!

That’s the last day of 2010!

 

At night, we went to this place below our hotel for our last dinner there.

& it reminded me so much of Cambodia bcus of the setting! The hut, and the ambience. So nice! 😀


The drink above is called “Kedongdong”. Allow me to explain to you,  so this trip there, we kept seeing the word “Kedongdong” which we did not encounter our first time there. Out of curiosity, we ordered it that night, and Baby test-drank it and gave me a super squishy face saying it’s really bad to drink!

Haha, he’s damn suay, he always kenna this kind of thing. Actually, I forgot what exactly happened after the sip, but it remained super funny to us and we don’t know why. Ah, boliao people are like that. Ha.

 

Finally, our dinner arrived!

This was damn nice! It was spicy, and it was cold! It’s something we have never tasted before, and it was quite fun to eat. Getting your hands dirty and experiencing the freshness of the cockles… Yum!

But then…

this turned out to be even more Yum! It looked like Loh Hei, but it’s not. It’s Thai style Tomyam Tanghoon, wahlau I tell you this one is superb! It’s sweet and sour and spicy and it’s tanghoon! This is damn nice, but I don’t think I can find it here in Singapore. Damn! 😦

 

Not long after the dinner, the clock struck 12 (…and the mice came down) when we are back in our room. We could view the pretty fireworks from all around our hotel, and it was displayed at different timings so it was non-stop. 🙂

Didn’t manage to capture any nice ones though.

 

On the last day, my flight was finally earlier than his. If not, he’s always leaving me at some strange lands heartbroken and all alone. We both checked in and spent the last few minutes with each other at the boarding gate until when I really needed to board the flight. 😦

& rmbr I told you how he was suay? His 9am flight was rescheduled first till 11am, and then twice to 2pm! Seriously ah… hahaha this guy has no luck. I think he used up all when he managed to get me as his girlfriend! Wahpiang, haha okay I’m hungry… bye!

2 Responses to “Travelogue: Mr & Mrs Kedongdong goes to Kuching!”

  1. myheartskipsalittle February 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    wehhhh, have you tried phad thai?
    It’s kind of like those sweet,sour and spicy tanghoon you had!

    You can try it at thai express 😀
    i first try at bangkok and i love it!

    • tingyuan February 22, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      wooo. that i haven’t try yet. okay will go try and see if it’s the same wheehee!

Leave a comment